Book review: The Name of the Wind

IMG_5634

Hi guys!

Sorry I haven’t been able to post anything this past week.. I have been super busy with my exams, but now I am back! Wohooo… Or whatever.

I just finished reading “The Name of the Wind” by Patrick Rothfuss. This fantasy novel was published in 2008 and is the first book in The Kingkiller Chronicles. I have got a lot to say about this book so here is my non spoiler review.

“I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep. 

My name is Kvothe. You may have heard of me.”

That is what the back of the book says (at least on my copy). It is also a quote from the book. Kvothe is in his late twenties. Only he now has turned to become an innkeeper hiding under the name Kote. He’s old self is slowly fading. But one day a chronicler shows up and he persuades Kvothe to let him write down the true story of Kvothe’s life. We hear about the young and clever Kvothe of the Ruh. We hear how his life takes unexpected turns and he eventually ends up at the university. The story of Kvothe’s life is dramatic and exciting to follow. You are never bored in the company of Kvothe’s memories.

I actually only read this book because it was the May book of the month in The Readers Guild. I usually don’t read what a book is about before I buy it/start reading it so I did not know what I was going into. It took me a long time to read this book.. more than twenty days! I usually finish a book in three days. But the story is very complex and demands a lot of energy and focus. It is also a bit slow at times, but it is all a piece of what makes this book so amazing! I loved all the details and the writing is beautiful! But I understand that it is not for everyone. It is quite a mouthful and I would not recommend reading if you are in a bit of a reading slump (like I was). This book is for when you have a lot of time (perhaps summer break 😉 ) and really feel like a good fantasy novel. Because this book is absolutely fantastic if you read it “the right way”.

I have chosen to rate The Name of the Wind ★★★★☆ because the story vas indeed entertaining and it left me feeling very satisfied. I laughed so many times while reading it and it gave me all the feels. The only thing dragging this book down is the fact that it was a bit slow and took me so long to read.

I definetly recommend reading this book. It is a wonderful fantasy story filled with wise words and exciting scenes.

I hope you liked this review. If you want to read some of my other book reviews click here.

See you next time ❤

– Anne Sofie

Leave a Reply

