Book review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child!

Hi guys!

I am FINALLY back! Sorry for the long break, but I needed it to sort out some stuff, but now I am back! Today I am going to give you my review and thoughts on Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. I know this book has been out for a while now but I only just got around to read it. So here goes..

Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Authors: J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne

Published: 31.7.2016

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is originally a play performed in London therefore the format of the book is the original script used in the play. That means it is fairly straight forward and easy to read. There are not a lot of descriptions as it is a play.

The book starts where we left off in the epilogue of Deathly Hallows: Albus is going to Hogwarts! Now everything is not as perfect as it was portrayed in DH. Albus is struggling a lot fitting in and has his share of problems and conflicts with Harry (his dad).

Albus must find himself and learn what is important in life. Of course he won’t be doing just that alone, his best friend Scorpius Malfoy is right by his side all along.

This book is a wonderful extra adventure for all the potterheads and I highly recommend reading it!

I give Harry Potter and the Cursed Child 4/5โ˜… because I enjoyed it very much and thought the story fun and interesting. I also liked the script form, it was fun and refreshing. What I made me give it four stars instead of five is that there was some scenes that I found odd and a bit out of character.. It is nothing big, it just does not really fit in…

Otherwise GREAT book! I highly recommend reading it (if you have read the other HP books already). Now this is the end of the non spoiler part so if you do not want to be spoiled about anything now is the time to leave ๐Ÿ˜‰

Bye non spoilers thanks for reading along! Now go read the book!

bye

and now to you who have read Harry Potter and the cursed child…

hello there

Oh mah goodness what a great book that was! It felt so good to be back in the world of wizards and magic!

There is so many things I want to talk about, but I will try to keep it short!

Harry and Albus’s relationshipย 

It kind of broke my heart to see album struggling so much both in school and with Harry. I had hoped the two of them would be like BFF’s or something.. But I really loved the talk they had in the end about them being alike โค The only thing I did not like was all the sentimental stuff Harry kept bringing up.. It just got a little cheesy sometimes ๐Ÿ˜’fx. the blanket, how he used to do something when he was in school, going to Cedrick’s grave in the end ect.

giphy

Scorpius and Slytherinย 

I looooved that Albus was put into Slytherin! As a Slytherin myself I was thrilled to get a Potter on the team! Another thing I really liked was that Scorpius is a Malfoy! He is such a great boy and has inherited all Draco’s hidden good sides. (I am a big fan of Draco as you can hear). โค

slytherin-malfoy

Ron and Hermione

This is something I am super excited to discuss! I LOVE Ron and Hermione’s relations ship!! Ron is the cutest and most loving husband and my heart totally melted when he suggested getting married again!! Also the fact that he is now running the Joke shop is fantastic! Speaking of fantastic I can’t even tell you guys how happy I am that Hermione is the minister of magic!We all saw it coming that of course she was going to make it big, and this is just absolutely perfect!

ronione

Snape!!!!!

I was literally fingerling so freaking hard when we heard that Snape was alive!!! I am grinning like an idiot right now just thinking about it ๐Ÿ˜‚ I love the idea that Snape would have kept fighting for Lily! It was just perfect!! and when he heard about Albus Severus i can’t even!! It was SO sweet!!!! Ahhh!!

snape

Delphi and Voldemort

I knew Delphi was trouble the moment we met her! I (like Scorpius) did not like or trusted her for a second! I called that she was Voldemort and Bellatrix’s child one before that it was revealed ๐Ÿ˜‚ I just don’t see how Bellatrix could have been pregnant when she clearly is not when we see her in Deathly Hallows.. Anyway! I found it quite weird the ways Voldemort would appear like in his dreams and when Harry changed forms.. As I said.. Weird ๐Ÿ˜’

dark-lord

Things I found weird

There is a few things in the book felt very odd/wrong to me.. First of all, I did not like the role that Cedrick had in this book. Why can the dead not just stay dead? I was not a big fan of him in the first place! So all this sentimental stuff about him and wanting to bring him back to live is just rubbish to me ๐Ÿ™„ A thing I found extremely weird and uncomfortable is the scene when Albus and Scorpio are stealing the timeturner as Harry and Ron and Albus kisses Hermione. I found it pretty gross and unfitting for a children’s book/play.. Another thing is that I found the death of Craig Bowker extremely downplayed like somebody dies at Hogwarts for maybe the first time since the war and everybody it totally chill!! Lastly the way that Draco acted seemed a bit out of character at times..

hermione-gross

Small things that were AWESOME!!

To end this review on a positive note lets talk about all the small awesome things:

  • Professor McGonagall is headmaster at Hogwarts!!
  • Draco has become “good”
  • It all ended well!
  • Neville is a poffessor (though we knew that from Deathly Hallows)
  • Scorpius is in love with Rose (I am looking forward to some Granger-Weasley Malfoy offsprings!!)
  • We get to see James and Lily with baby Harry!!
  • Everybody is happy and amazing and it was so good to see them all again!!

applause

Thank you all so much for reading that loooong review! Do tell me your thoughts on The Cursed Child in the comments bellow โค

I will see you guys soon!

– Anne Sofie

Leave a Reply

