Book review: An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters and Denizens of Downworld

fullsizeoutput_19a2

Picture of the back summary

Title: An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters and Denizens of Downworld
Published: November 3rd 2016
Author: Cassandra Clare
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
My rating: ★★★★☆

 

An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters and Denizens of Downworld by Cassandra Clare is a book (no shit) filled with portraits of the characters from her books. With every portrait there is a little backstory/fun fact about the character. The portrait shows both the character, a flower and a word that fits their personality.

I was so happy when I got this book! For months I waited for this book to be available in Denmark for SO LONG! and then FINALLY it was here!

Now, I think An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters and Denizens of Downworld might be the longest book title I have ever heard.. I mean just writing it takes ages! (Who am I kidding, I am totally copy pasting it #lazy) Hahaha 😅

I started reading AIHONSADOD (holy shit a long acronym) right away when I got it and finished it in one sitting. This was the first book I have ever read in one sitting so I really was quite proud of myself.. you see I am a slow reader and I also tend to get impatient and needs to get up and walk around mid-reading… So for me this was quite an accomplishment!

That being said it was an easy read, being mostly facts (there is no plot), but the facts are funny and I found myself laughing and fangirling several times throughout the book.

I highly recommend reading it if you have read some of Cassie’s books and would like to check up on the characters. I actually found that I had nearly forgot some of the characters, so it was really nice catching up when my memory seems to think these things are not worth remembering forever…

The illustrations are absolutely gorgeous and though some of the characters are not portrayed like I have imagined them, most was right on point! It is honestly so satisfying when that happens 😉 Above you see some of my favorite illustrations ❤

I gave An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters and Denizens of Downworld 4/5 stars and as I have already said a few times, then I highly recommend it to all you shadowhunters out there 😜

Love – Anne Sofie ❤

2 thoughts on “Book review: An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters and Denizens of Downworld

Leave a Reply

