Book review – Miss Peregrines Home For Peculiar Children

missperegrine_334x518

Title: Miss Peregrines Home For Peculiar Children

Published: June 7th 2011

Author: Ransom Riggs

Publisher: Quirk

My rating: ★★★★☆

Buy it here

 

Miss Peregrines Home For Peculiar Children is a book by Ransom Riggs published all the way back in 2011. It was also made into a movie recently. I am going to watch it soon so look out for a review on that in the near future! 😉

On the back of the book it says:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

 

Now doesn’t that just sound terrific?! It really is! The book has this creepy old feel to it because of the many old and a bit scary pictures in it. What makes it really creepy is the fact that almost all the pictures are real pictures donated by collectors for the purpose of this book..!!!

img_7449

I was afraid this book would be way too scary for me, but I actually was not very moved emotionally by it. I laughed a few times but there wasn’t really anything sad nor scary. The characters were not nearly as cool and glamorous as I had hoped for them to be, but it was fine really. It just added to that creepy off feeling you get when reading the book.

The main character Jacob seems like a really nice guy and I like him.. I am looking much forward to seeing him develop in the next two books (I am marathoning them right now!). He is not super relatable though. Come to think of it, none of the characters are relatable. I think that is why I don’t feel very connected to the story yet.. but hopefully I will latch on in Hollow City ❤

img_7348

Over all it was a great book though. I really liked the characters and the story, even if I don’t really feel connected to it yet. Therefore based on what I just mentioned and the fact that I laughed quite a bit while I was reading it, I have decided to give Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children ★★★★☆

It is closer to three and a half stars really but I like to deal in clean whole stars 😉

I definitely reccoment reading it! It is also a very easy read and felt refreshing after a bunch of more heavy books.

I hope you will all go read it now! Also if you have watched the movie: How did you like it? Do tell me in the comments!

Love – Anne Sofie

10 thoughts on “Book review – Miss Peregrines Home For Peculiar Children

  1. The Book Wench says:

    Great review! I loved the book and when I finished I immediately purchased the next one, but I can certainly understand what you mean about not feeling wholly connected to it. I definitely felt that way in the beginning!

    Like

  2. infinitbr says:

    Love this review! Okay so I’ve seen this book everywhere but I’ve never read it because I don’t do scary! I recently read The Dead House and that book terrified me in the end a little bit. 😅
    I may actually give this book a try though since you say it didn’t scare you very much! I’ll blame you for the screaming 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

