Film review – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

fantastic-beasts-sequel-03aug16

Title: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

From: November 2016

Director: David Yates

Script author: J. K. Rowling

My rating: ★★★★★

 

 

 

 

Last week I went to the cinema with my sister and her best friend and saw Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. It was absolutely amazing so I just had to do a review on it! ❤

 

This is the first full script ever written by J. K. Rowling. She has in over the scripts for the Harry Potter movies and wrote the Cursed Child script together with John Tiffany and Jack Thorne but this one she wrote all by herself! As a massive HP fan I can’t help but feel proud of our fantasy queen who apparently can do everything – and does it really well too!

 

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them instructed by David Yates had premiere in November 2016. The main character Newt Scamander is played by the British actor Eddie Redmayne.

fantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-them-poster-1

Newt Scamander comes from London to New York carrying a chest full of magical creatures. As the movie is set seventy years before the original Harry Potter films, the wizarding world is very different in this time. The thread is not Voldemord but a whole other factor that has not previously been a problem in the Harry Potter books: the exposure of magic in the muggle world. Watch as Newt has to fight his way to do what he came to do. And what might that be you say? Go watch the movie to find out 😉

fantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-them-movie-characters

You could really tell, that the script was written by J. K. Rowling only. It just had that magical feel to it that the books have too! The acting was wonderful too! I am a bit fan of Eddie Redmayne in general so I was thoroughly thrilled when I heard that he would be playing as Newt. The other characters are fabulous too! Not to forget the beasts! The animation is beautiful and I also highly recommend seeing it in 3D (like I did) as it really adds some extra wow factor to the special effects. The beasts are the cutest too! All I want for Christmas is one of those darlings! Really they are so sweet and makes you want to cuddle up and enjoy a good cup of hot cocoa with one of them! ❤

fantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-them1

To be a bit critical there were some things that I found a bit odd or i would have liked to be different. Some of the scenes I found a little awkward and unfitting. Without spoiling I will just say I would have liked the ending to be a bit different.

Jumping to a completely different topic I am absolutely thrilled that Newt is a Hufflepuff as they definitely needs some love ❤ I myself is a Slytherin but I still think people should be more open toward Hufflepuffs and see them not as some wounded animal but as the strong and kind people they are. Newt proves that Hufflepuffs are badass too! He is brave and smart and as you can probably hear I definitely have a new book boyfriend crush coming on him ❤

fantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-them

I rate the movie Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them ★★★★★ out of five. Maybe 4,5 stars but definitely closer to five than four! It moved me greatly and I left the movie theater feeling like I could fly! I was that happy!

I am most definitely going to buy the DVD when it comes out too! I cannot wait to see it again! ❤

If you want to, you can buy the movie script on book depository and amazon. I know I am going to if I don’t get it for Christmas 😉

So over all I adore this movie and highly recommend it to all Harry Potter fans! ❤

Love – Anne Sofie

2 thoughts on “Film review – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Leave a Reply

