Shadowhunter Academy #3 – The Whitechapel Fiend

TSA03_cover.jpg

Title: The Whitechapel Fiend

Published: April 21st 2015

Author: Cassandra Clare & Maureen Johnson

First published by: Margaret K. McElderry

Collection: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

My rating: ★★★★★

 

 

If you have been following along here for at least a few weeks you know that I am currently reviewing and discussing all the novellas in the Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy collection/book. I have already reviewed the first two and you can find them here: no.1 no.2 😉 The Shadowhunter Academy stories are novellas about Simon from The Mortal Instruments and how he is doing after City of Heavenly Fire.

The book is set after The Infernal Devices, The Mortal Instruments and The Bane Chronicles so you are going to want to read those first! Otherwise you will be spoiled! But as TFTSA is set before The Dark Artifices so wait with Lady Midnight until you have read these novellas.

So for all of you who have not read TMI, TID and TBC it is time for you to go now if you do not want to be spoiled. For you who have read the three series/collections this is for you. I will not spoil you about this series/novella, only tell you what I thought of it ❤

skaermbillede-2016-12-31-kl-01-06-59

Though I loved the two first stories this is where I started getting really into it! This third novella was fantastic and gave me so many feels! We get a visit from a character from one of the previous books and it is super fun seeing that character from Simon’s perspective. I think this is one of the very best stories in this collection of novellas and I highly recommend reading it even if you didn’t really latch on in the two first short stories!

**SPOILERS START HERE** (see you below non-spoilers)

simon-lewis-cassandra-jean

Damn! You guys! What an awesome story! I tell you when Tessa walked into that class I whined and went into full on fingerling mode so I actually had to put the book down for a little while! It was absolutely wonderful hearing how everyone was after TID.

tumblr_n6013o17tx1r3oy4vo1_500

A moment that I thought was absolutely hilarious was when little Jamie stabbed the sofa saying “Ducks!” I just laughed so hard at  that and I don’t even know why! It was not that funny looking back..

Anyway I really enjoyed the whole Jack the Ripper theme and Jessamine, who is one of my favorite characters, was as always AWESOME and saved the day! ❤

2a81f7193eb632e9a968dc0eb5a69929

I loved this novella and it was also fun with Jace coming to the academy and to say that I did not fangirl about him talking to Tessa would be a lie 😉 This short story was everything I could ever hope for! Also not to forget  The friendship between Simon and George! I adore their bromance! Though it is no match for Jimon (ship name for Simon and Jace)!

At last there is the letter to Izzy that just gave me all the feels! It was SO typical Simon! I laughed so hard and still it hit me right in the heart! I cannot wait to here more from these two ❤

d360b871053affc7569755dd0c91c629

**END OF SPOILERS**

To sum up my feelings on this novella it not just left me breathless but gave me so many feels that I needed to remind myself how to breath while reading it! The character development and plot was fantastic! I cannot wait to read the next novella!

codex_simon

This being a through and through fabulous short story is could not rate it anything else than ★★★★★!

As I have already said I recommend reading this novella so highly that it reaches the sky! You have to! I really hope you do.. for your own sake ❤

Love – Anne Sofie

Leave a Reply

