Shadowhunter Academy #4 – Nothing but Shadows

tsa04_cover

Title: Nothing but Shadows

Published: May 19th 2015

Author: Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan

Published by: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Collection: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

My rating: ★★★★☆

 

 

I hope you are not getting tired of me ranting about these novellas 😉 If you have not read my first review and introduction to this series you should click here to read it! You definitely should not read on if you have not read these series: The Infernal Devices, The Mortal Instruments and the Bane Chronicles. But you are going to want to read all of those books as well at this book Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy before reading the Dark Artifices. These books are all fantastic and you really should read them!

For those of you who have read TID, TMI and TBC you can read on but for those who have not, I advice you to go now before the spoilers starts coming down 😀

2a81f7193eb632e9a968dc0eb5a69929

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy is as you might or might not know about Simon no longer a vampire/daylighter going to the shadowhunter academy to train to become a shadowhunter and hopefully get his memories back ❤ Things are more complicated than that though as it can be hard being a mundane in the world of super angel warriors… Still ha manages!

While hearing about Simon and how everything is faring at the academy we learn things about the past shadowhunters from Cassie’s other series (TID, TMI, TBC and her new series coming in 2018 – The Last Hours) through visitors who comes to the institute.

**SPOILERS START HERE!!** (see you below non-spoilers)

fac45c5a7db61fc1b47b65452b266409

OK! Wheeew!! What. A. Story!!! At first I was not super into this story.. I was not a big fan of James and but I still felt very sorry for him. But as the story went on it enchanted me with its charm and made me fall deeply madly and utterly in love with both James and Matthew! And yeah I know they are about a hundred years oiler than me but I still love them ok?

As sad as it sounds I could actually relate a lot to James when he was alone and being bullied.. not that I want to go into that a lot but I still felt him right in my heart. The shadowhunters still have a long way to go when it comes to prejudice and I hope that is what we will witness in TDA ❤

c64453791cbac7fa8680dff6f58c7973

I was really sad to hear that Henry is not doing too good and that Matthew had to be the one to take care of him.. I had really hoped that Charlotte would find the time to do that… Anyway he is a genius and no one can blame him for being a bit out of it 😉

About James’s powers I am actually pretty excited! Think of all the opportuneties! He could be a master at hide and seek! Also teleporting about seems very convenient! Oh and when your mom comes to tell you to clean your room you just teleport out of it! As I said ENDLESS OPPORTUNETIES! 

37321f54a82b753e220bde0164cd3bf3

At last when Matthew says that they are to become parabatai my heart swelled to the size of a watermelon!(ok that actually sounded a bit gross but you know what I mean..). They are the cutest and ship this bromance so hard! Man! I cannot wait for TLH!!!

4d2945f5d9fad4da12f4cba82b7e57dd

**SPOILERS ENDS HERE!!**

I was not that keen on the first half of this novella but the last half was fantastic! It gave me so many feels (both good and bad) and oh it was just absolutely wonderful in the end!

As I sort of loved this novella I have decided to rate it ★★★★☆! I will never forget this sweet short story and I do not think you will either if you have (or are going to) read it.

I hope you have all had a great start on this new year!

Love – Anne Sofie

Leave a Reply

