Underrated – Snow Like Ashes Series

I recently finished reading Frost Like Night the third book in this series and it being absolutely fantastic made me come to the conclusion, that the Snow Like Ashes series needs an underrated post.

If you don’t know what underrated is, it is a series of blogposts I have been doing where I talk about books and book related things that I think needs some more love ❤ Check out my previous underrated posts here 😉


The Snow Like Ashes series is a trilogy by Sara Raasch. The first book Snow like Ashes published on October 14th 2014 is about sixteen year old Miera living in the world Primoria. Primoria is divided into eight courts. Four seasons: Summer, Autumn, Winter and Spring and four Rhythms: Yakim, Ventralli, Cordell and Paisly. Each kingdom has a magic royal conduit that represents their culture and traditions that is bound to a certain gender in each royal line.


Sixteen years ago Angra the king of Spring declared war with Winter, killed Winters Queen Hanna, broke her royal conduit and send all the Wintarians into workcamps. But a small group escaped, among them was not only Miera but also Winters only living royalty: prince Mather the future king of Winter. Ever since then they have been on the run, trying to find information on Angra and his plans.. trying to find the royal conduit.

Miera must constantly fight for her place and train so she can one day defend Winter  together with her best friend prince Mather in the fight against Angra. But things are never as simple as they seem.. and Miera definitely learns that the hard way. She must find out who she is and what they really are facing.


The Snow Like Ashes book was honestly a cover buy for me and though I liked the first book I don’t remember it is breathtakingly wonderful… BUT the latter books especially Frost Like Night completely reclaims the story! Ice Like Fire was great but Frost Like Night was stunning!


Miera’s character development was very enjoyable to witness. Character development is one of the most important things to me, especially if I am not the biggest fan of that character from the beginning. Therefore I was so happy to see what a wonderful woman Miera eventually grew into ❤


Another thing I love about this series is the world of Primoria. I find it quite fascinating with the seasons and the rhythms.. it sort of reminds me of ACOTAR ❤ ❤ Magic is always a hit too of course! And that is what this story is, raw and magical.

Here is a bit more info about the books:

Snow Like Ashes


Title: Snow Like Ashes

Published: October 14th 2014

Author: Sara Raasch

Published by: Balzer + Bray

Series: Snow Like Ashes Series

Number in series: #1

Average rating on goodreads: ★★★★☆

My rating:★★★★☆

Buy it here

Ice Like Fire


Title: Ice Like Fire

Published: October 13th 2015

Author: Sara Raasch

Published by: Balzer + Bay

Series: Snow Like Ashes Series

Number in series: #2

Average rating: ★★★★☆ (3.81)

My rating: ★★★★☆

Buy it here

Frost Like Night


Title: Frost Like Night

Published: September 20th 2016

Author: Sara Raasch

Published by: Balzer + bay

Series: Snow Like Ashes Series

Number in series: #3

Average rating: ★★★★☆ (4.04)

My rating: ★★★★☆

Buy it here

As you can see I have rated all of them four stars (which is really good on my new standarts <3) The writing is beautiful and enjoyable and the character development as I mentioned earlier is to die for! I hope you will read this series as it really is fantastic!

Until next time

Love – Anne Sofie


3 thoughts on “Underrated – Snow Like Ashes Series

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s