New star rating system!

Looking back on the books, that I read in 2016, I noticed there was A LOT of books I rated five stars.. And they all deserved it of course, but as some of those books (ACOMAF, EOS and others) were better than some of the other books I rated five stars I have decided to be a little more critical when rating books.

Here is my new rating criteria:

★☆☆☆☆ – I have never rated a book one star as I seem to always find something I like about a book. For me to rate a book only one star I would have to hate it. Both concept, plot, all characters, whiting style/language and setting. I will always finish a book so I can rate it fairly but it really has to be terrible for me to rate it only one star.

★★☆☆☆ – Another rating I have never used before (but might in the future). For me to rate a book two stars it needs to fulfill two of the points mentioned above. It can be a bit of all of them too.. But two stars = not a good book.. so much good potential wasted here :/

★★★☆☆ – Three stars, which is the lowest I have ever rated a book so far, will now become more frequent. Three stars to me is a good book. It fulfills most of the criteria from above but did not overwhelm me in any way.. some things was just not good or satisfying enough. Three stars = good book but not better that good.

★★★★☆ – Four stars is a great book. If I rate a book four stars I really loved it. It fulfilled all of my criteria and was wonderful to read. It was however not 100% unique and needed that extra something for me to rate it five stars. Four stars = a great book and I definitely recommend it!

★★★★★ – Five stars is a fantastic book that I think everyone should read. It was funny and made me laugh, interesting and I learned something, had deeper characters that I could relate to on some level, a plot that had me sitting on the edge of the seat with excitement, enjoyable writing style, moved me deeply maybe even made me cry and last but not least changed me in some way. I know that these might sound like high criteria but that is what it takes and I can mention loads of books that are that good. Five stars = A hurricane of breathtaking fabulousness.

Now that is not all.. not nearly all! Because I am introducing to new distinctions for very special books.

First there is the Golden Star ⭐️ prize. This very rare title will be given to one of a kind books that I estimate to be among the best in the world. If I decide to give a book the Golden Star ⭐️ it will be mentioned clearly in reviews and other blogposts.

The second thing I am introducing is the Underrated distinction. This is for fantastic books that I believe are underrated. The Underrated books will be announced through my blog post series called underrated that I have been doing for these past few months (note that not all books from the underrated series will be given the Underrated title). Underrated books are lesser famous/under-appreciated books and series that do not get all the love and attention that I think they deserve. They will typically be rated four or five stars and have a very special place in my heart. Like with the Golden Star ⭐️ it will appear obviously, if a book has been given the Underrated title, in reviews and other blog posts.

I am super excited for more fantastic books that needs these ratings it the future. I will make a series where I announce the Golden Star ⭐️ winners as well.

Lots of love – Anne Sofie

5 thoughts on “New star rating system!

    • siamybooks says:

      Thank you sweetie ❤ I think this will work much better too… I was honestly inspired a little bit by you updating your rating system.. or at least it sort of confirmed that it is fine to be a bit more critical 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

