Book review: Gemina

gemina-by-amie-kaufman-and-jay-kristoff

Title: Gemina

Published: October 18th 2016

Author: Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Published by: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Series: The Illuminae Files

My rating: ★★★★★

This book has been given the underrated distinction*

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff is the second book in The Illuminae files series. I read Illuminae last year and ADORED it! The story was fantastic and action packed and completely blew me away. Therefore I had some pretty damn high expectations for Gemina… I was afraid that I would be disappointed as a lot of second book in a series tend not to live up to the firs one… But that was not at all the case! This book not just blew me away but blew me all the way to outer space! More specifically to the Heimdall space station.

img_2140

My synopsis:

Hanna lives with her dad the station captain on the space station Heimdall. Her life is great with her dad spoiling her and her hot boyfriend Jackson. Nik Malikov is a criminal and part of the House of Knives. He deals drugs on the station with his family. Little does they know the fate that awaits the station. After the attack on Kerenza, BeiTech is desperate to wipe out all evidence of their crimes including the Heimdall station and the spaceship Hypatia carrying the only survivors left from the Kerenza attack among them Kady. Can they defeat BeiTech’s forces or is this their doom? 

img_1543

Like Illuminae, Gemina is packed with action and has you sitting on the edge of your seat. It is written in a unique format made with all kinds of files relevant to the story. Some are outtakes from chat rooms, others are analyzed recorded footage and some are absolutely crazy graphical artistic pages/pictures like the ones you can see below. This makes it very motivating and fun to read the book as the “files/chapters” are each pretty short so it is easy to just read “one more chapter”. They give the book life and is a very interesting way to live through this story. It made me feel as if I was actually there with them!

 

I really like Hanna as a character. She is badass and has so many sides to her. As a fellow blonde I love that she has blond hair and still is the heroine.. You might not have noticed but in nearly all books and films blonde girls are either evil or stupid.. which is nowhere near real life. Anyway I think she is super cool and funny too.

Nik is probably my favorite though. He is so funny and charming! With his tattoos and all he is also (the way I imagine him) super hot and swoon worthy. He is very unique as a character and I looove his softer sides too ❤

The plot is like illuminae unpredictable and exciting. You can never be sure where things are going. That is one of the things I love about this series: every time you think something is one way they turn it around and change everything!

skaermbillede-2017-01-22-kl-13-39-59

This book made me cry (more than once) and laugh (more times than I can count) and it made me feel angry, happy beyond words, sad, relieved, nostalgic and I could go on but I think you get my point 😉

With all of its glory and fabulousness I rate Gemina ★★★★★ because damn it was good! If you have not yet you NEED to read this series! It is SO SO SOOOOO good and unique!

img_2157

I hope you will all go read this book now! I know that some of you who have read Illuminae but not Gemina might be a bit bummed that this is not about Kady but trust me you will not be disappointed when you read this book! These new characters are just as fantastic and amazing as the ones from Illuminae and the shift in characters is necessary for the story.

Gemina left me breathless with my heart beating crazy fast! With the way it is told format wise it really touches you in a way no other book does. And as I have said you really should read it ❤

All the best – Anne Sofie ❤ ❤

*Read more about the underrated distinction here

2 thoughts on “Book review: Gemina

Leave a Reply

