Shadowhunter academy #6 – Pale Kings and Princes

TSA06_cover.jpg

Title: Pale Kings and Princes

Published: July 20th 2015

Author: Cassandra Clare & Robin Wasserman

Published by: kindle / as an e-book

Collection: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

My rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5)

Buy it here

 

I have now for quite some time been working my way through reviewing the Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy novellas. This time I will be reviewing the sixth novella Pale Kings and Princes. If you have not read my other reviews or any of these novellas at all you can go check out my first post where I talk about this book without spoiling anything.

If you do not mind being mildly spoiled about what this novella contains you can read on. Later there will be hard core spoilers and discussion of the novella but there will be a clear warning beforehand ❤

skaermbillede-2016-12-31-kl-01-06-59

In Pale Kings and Princes Simon comes backafter the summer break. He is embarrassed about having had not one, not two but three scandalous dates with Isabelle Lightwood aka the most badass and hot shadowhunter wonderwoman in history 😉

As a second year at the academy Simon now has to learn about the Cold Peace from the new very racist *ahem* *ahem* Sorry i meant the great elderly shadowhunter Freeman Mayhew. One day Mayhew brings in a young woman for the class. Her name is Helen Blackthorn.

elle

We follow Simon and hear about what happened to Helen’s father and his brother Andrew (whom we meet in Lady Midnight as well). Past, present and future mix together as another unexpected visitor arrives and Simon must live with all to achieve his goal: Isabelle ❤

Soooo that was sort of a synopsis right? Anyway there will be hard core spoilers from now on but you can scroll ove those and continue to read the ending at the bottom of the post (it says “spilers end here” very clearly 😉

**SPOILERS START HERE!!** (see you below non-spoilers)

0ecf9bca5e521a2cccf2b76ec603481e

OH…. MY… GOODNESS…!!!!!!!! That was FANTASTIC!!!! This is definitely one of my favorite novellas in the collection! I loved every part of this story!!

tarot_runes_8

Lets start with Helen Blackthorn coming to visit. I did not believe it at first. I mean, Helen was imprisoned right? Anyway it broke my heart and then fueled it with rage to hear how the Clave is treating her and Aline, but then again, we already knew that.. 😦 Them being engaged to be married made me SO happy though! Even if they will only get one day I am so excited for them! ❤

f1329e862b7f3220670f30855cbb56f6

Then there is all of the Sizzy dates aha.. I felt so bad for both of them! I had hoped the weapon date would go well but then on the other hand, Simon is not really a weapon kind of guy… When Isabelle then revealed that it was Jace’s idea I started laughing SO hard! It was just so typically Jace! I am smiling just writing about it now!

large

I live for that date at the lake though!! I was grinning like an idiot through all of it.. I just knew they were going to kiss… And then it happened!!! That moment, you guys, that moment is EVERYTHING!! ❤ I think I might ship Sizzy harder that Clace to be honest.. I just love them so much! ❤

a886faf45c9ce24cebc7f749c4375c43

** SPOILERS END HERE.. **

I loved this novella. It was funny and wonderful. It made me feel both happiness, sadness, anger and love. I love the characters, the setting, the complexity of this story, Simon, Somin oh and did I mention SIMON ❤

I have decided to rate this novella ★★★★☆ (4.5) as it was absolutely fantastic! I was soooo close to rating it five stars as nothing is really missing from the story. But on the other hand, this is only a novella. It is light, fun and an easy read. Nothing close to the other books I have rated five stars (Gemina fx).

I highly recommend reading this novella (as long as you read all of them of course 😉 )

Have a lovely day and until next time..

Love – Anne Sofie

Leave a Reply

