Shadowhunter Academy #7 – Bitter of Tongue

tsa07_cover

Title: Bitter of Tongue

Published: August 18th 2015

Author: Cassandra Clare & Sarah Rees Brennan

First published on: kindle

Collection: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

My rating: ★★★★☆ (3.6)

Buy it here

 

Today I will be reviewing the seventh novella in the Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy series. If you have not read any of these novellas yet you should go check out my first post about them where I explain what they are about more generally. If you stay and you have not read the novellas you will be spoiled. Enjoy 😉

2a81f7193eb632e9a968dc0eb5a69929

Short synopsis:

Life at the academy can be rough sometimes and also annoying when you get kidnapped by fairies while on a mission when you also have a wedding and a hot date to get to afterwards, and Simon experiences that first hand in this short story. We also get to see a character we first met in The Mortal Instruments and then meet again in The Dark Artifices and that is Mark Blackthorn of the wild hunt.

I will say some more about what I though of this short story down below the spoilers so I will see you there non-spoilers 😉

large

***SPOILERS START HERE!!***

 

OH MY GOODNESS!!! That novella was AMAZING!!! I really liked that they had to go on missions and stuff but George obviously do not have what it takes to be a leader. I mean way to ruin everything George! Not to dwell too much on that (but really how stupid can you be!)

I was so worried about weather Simon would or wouldn’t make it to the wedding through the entire time that I read this story very quickly and was all tense all the way through it… I really thought he was screwed when that fairy kidnapped him..

 

But then came Mark and my heart broke. The evil of the clave is so wrong and I truly hate them for it. Mark is better than them and he is doing so well being tough and strong, but they just leave him to rot! Are there no human rights in the shadowhunter world? Are they stupid? I melted completely when he asked when the Clave was coming for him and I just wanted to cry because how can they be so mean!!! He is a SHADOWHUNTER for heavens sake! And even if he was not, what they are doing would never be ok!

a886faf45c9ce24cebc7f749c4375c43

When Izzy showed up I got SO MANY FEELS!!! Sizzy is amazing and wonderful and oh my goodness just… SOOOO GOOD!!! Of course Isabelle saves the day so we can finally get to that wedding and then my heart broke again. Because of the Blackthorn family. Because of Julian and Emma. Most of all because of Helen. How they all miss their brother. Helen’s only full blood brother. Damn I wanted to cry :’/

f1329e862b7f3220670f30855cbb56f6

Still, the wedding was beautiful and I love Consul Penhallow and how accepting she is. If only some of those old school woolly brains / traditional shadowhunters would listen to her the world would be a much better place.

I love Helen and Aline together. They make each other better, and that is important. That is what makes it bearable. Still them being outcasts breaks my heart. They could give so much to the clave and the shadowhunter society but they just had to be send away… Booo clave! That is what I have to say to them: BOOOO!

**SPOILERS END HERE**

I really liked this novel… it was (like everything else by Cassie) beautifully written and had my beloved characters in them. I also loved the sparks of Simon’s humor we get in it ❤ Eve if some things annoyed me I hope that they will sort them out in The Dark Artifices.

I enjoyed the plot and the concept and of course seeing some of the good old characters. Therefore I rate Bitter of Tongue ★★★★☆ (3.6 stars). I highly recommend reading this short story as long as you read TID, TMI and Bane Chronicles before diving into this adventure.

I hope you are all having a great day!

Love – Anne Sofie

 

Leave a Reply

