To read or not to read…

If you follow me on Instagram you might know that I am currently battling my way through the A Game of Thrones book… and it is going very slow :/

That, however, inspired me to write this post on when to read or not to read a book.

We decide to read a book because we something appointed is to us. I can be because it is hyped or we have heard good things about it or because it has a pretty cover (that is me like 95% of the time aha) or someone told us to read it. Going into a book with an open mind is always key to a great experience.. otherwise it just won’t go well.. Therefore it is always important to read what you are in the mood for and what feels right. Just because you are not in the mood for a book doesn’t necessarily have to mean you don’t want to read it.. it is just listening to yourself and what you need – which is important in life.

Then there is the second phase: when you have begun a book and it is really hard to get into. Do you just ditch it or do you keep on fighting? Both are cool but I myself has a rule called “100 pages”. I always read the first 100 pages.. If the book is still killing me I can consider dropping it. I am very stubborn though and pretty much always finishes a book ;J (that was supposed to be a winking smiley with a crooked smile.. ;J)

The third phase is when something outrageous or stupid happens in the book so you get angry and want to just stop reading the book.. I personally will call this kind of decision DUMB because if you don’t finish the book now, how can you then know what happens and if it was all just a trick? Also quitting here is for the weak! You go finish that book! Now! You can do it!

The fourth scenario is when you have read the first book in the series and you liked it but you are not sure weather or not to read the following books. I have been there.. MANY times even… But I always find it is a good idea to at least give the next book a shot (that 100 pages rule working here). But remember that you must feel like reading it as I talked about earlier.. No need to start something if you are not tuned in on reading it at the moment.

My answer for the question: to read or not to read will always be YES but that is because I am as stubborn as an old goat and refuse to let a book get me down (like right now with GOT) but also because I don’t want to miss anything – I want to know and read it all!

I hope you are all having a wonderful Wednesday and may your pages turn as fast as the wind and the slump never hit you.

Love – Anne Sofie

2 thoughts on “To read or not to read…

  1. kenyanlibrary says:

    I totally understand where you are coming from 🙂 I have this tendancy of alway pushing through a book that isn’t really that great but I slowly realised that I have so many books that I actually want to get to so after 100 pages I just drop it and on to the next one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • siamybooks says:

      Hah! I am SO glad that I am not the only one – I just banned my first books because I have been at reading A Game of Thrones for a moth now and I am getting NOWHERE so I am not even sad about dropping it :))

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

