Shadowhunter Academy#8 -The Fiery Trial

Shadowhunter Academy Cover Placement

Title: The Fiery Trial

Published: September 22nd 2015

Author: Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson

Published by: Kindle

Collection: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

My rating: ★★★☆☆ (3.5)

Buy it here

Aaaand we are back at those Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy reviews! I debated weather to finish reviewing these short stories or not because it is just taking sooo long and it is nearly three months since I read them BUT NO! I am not a quitter so here we go with the eighth shortstory in the Shadowhunter Academy collection by Cassandra Clare The Fiery Trial. If you have not read The Infernal Devices, The Mortal Instruments and the Bane Chronicles yet you HAVE to read those first or these short stories will not be a bit as magnificent an experience as they truly are. Also for those of you who have not read the Shadowhunter Academy novellas – go check out my introduction post on this series here because you will be spoiled if you stay ❤

2a81f7193eb632e9a968dc0eb5a69929

It is the holidays and it is COLD in the shadowhunter academy. The jolly season is causing new to be made concerning especially the parabatai bond. Emma and Julian are to become parabatai and Simon and Clary are to witness it at Emma’s wish. Things go unexpected though as characters from the past show up and Simon and Clary goes on an unexpected journey.

I don’t know if I spoiled anything there.. I don’t thin so.. Anyway! The real spoilers start NOW so do scroll over them if you don’t want to be spoiled ❤

3388c84ffd04ef45f2383b1926246d8c

***SPOILERS START HERE!!*** (see you below non spoilers)

cj_cordelia__lucie

I have mixed feelings about this short story… It was just weird! It was pretty sudden that whole thing with Julie and Beatrix becoming parabatai and the fires laughing at Simon.. I don’t know.. As I said weird..

The weirdness continues when Simon has to go and meet Jem, Magnus, Catarina and Clary… But it was as always a pleasure to see my favorites from TID and TMI ❤

054aaa62a1f5fdee2811cce2fb3a70a1

I get that they “needed to test weather or not Simon and Clary were true parabatai but I do not believe drugging them without them knowing was the right choice. As someone who’s friend has experienced being drugged without them knowing I am VERY against what Magnus and Jem did. It was NOT ok. No matter what happened. This alone made the story go down half a star in my rating.

d723ca8ae35b70d70711ce2ee4fe397e

That entire illusion and watery trial and all was also weird.. very weird.. I honestly thought they had gone through a portal from the academy and ended up in New York at first.. but then I thought nah.. they are playing us haha :/

I WAS or AM still blond thrilled that Clary and Simon are true parabati and I totally love them 1000%  and I did enjoy this story. But drugging people is wrong.

nice_move__fray_by_tina3006-d5x5vur

***SPOILERS END HERE***

Though I found this novel more than a bit weird and confusing I truly enjoyed reading it. Both because of the characters and whole setting and the background we have on them but also because of Cassie’s wonderful writing skills that is ALWAYS enjoyable to read. I think she could write a lexicon and it would still be a great read 🙂

caf60385a7258ceeeb0c344abffd4287

All things considered this is a good short story and I really do recommend reading it. I have therefore decided to rate The Fiery Trial ★★★☆☆ or 3.5 stars.

I hope you are all great and do read these short stories because THEY ARE EPIC!

Love – Anne Sofie

One thought on “Shadowhunter Academy#8 -The Fiery Trial

  1. giromarara says:

    Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything similar to this prior to. So nice to locate somebody with a few original applying for grants this subject. realy thanks for starting this up. this fabulous website are some things that is needed online, an individual with a bit of originality. beneficial project for bringing something new to the net!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

