Let’s talk music – Ed Sheeran – Divide %

WOHOOOO!! Divide by one of my favorite male artists Ed Sheeran is out today and I have some thoughts on his new album which has been playing on repeat in my headphones all day!

I know I usually only talk about books BUT I am starting a new series called Let’s talk music where I discuss and recommend my newest music obsessions.

ed-sheeran-divide-album-cover-2017-march-1484221917

Ed surprised us all when we woke up January 6th to not one but TWO new singles from Ed Sheehan. Shape of You and Castle on the Hill has been number one and two one charts all over the world since then. Today March 3rd finally came the day when % (Divide) Ed’s third studio album came out and I AM ADDICTED! 

c14juqmw8aa5rss

The album consists of 12 songs but the DELUXE edition has four extra tracks – so 16 songs – three of which we already knew as singles; Shape of You, Castle on the Hill and How Would You Feel (paean).

I will go through all the songs now and tell you a bit about what I think of them (it won’t be too long – I promise) ❤

1. Eraser

We start the album off with Ed rapping and my life is basically complete already here. I am a huge fan of Ed’s rapping so this song is definitely one of my favorites from the album. I am also digging the drum in this track! This song is, I think, the perfect way to start this album off. It is personal and shows us where he is in his life right now and is overall a great introduction to this adventure of am album we are about to start.

“The world may be filled with hate, but keep erasing it now
Somehow”

2. Castle on the Hill

Castle on the Hill is the second song on this album. Here Ed talks about his youth which is something I can relate to a lot because the things he sings about in that song is what I am living through right now as a teenager having fun – going out – being with friends and not knowing the answers. Again we have an awesome beat and I don’t know about you guys, but this song has been stuck in my head ever since the 6th of January haha 😉

“Found my heart and broke it here
Made friends and lost them through the years
And I’ve not seen the roaring fields in so long, I know I’ve grown
But I can’t wait to go home”

3. Dive

In this third song we Dive into something deeper and a bit more slow (see what I did there huh?). Dive is a lovesong about being insecure and wanting to be sure of one another before you dive into love. This song really makes you envy that one lucky girl Ed is singing about because damn that is one sweet boy (man I guess) 🙂

“I have travelled the world
And there’s no other girl like you”

4. Shape of You

Then comes the fantastic dance track and single Shape of You. This song has grown on me through the past two moths.. In the beginning I found it rather dull, but that melody and beat has won me over. Also the lyrics are adorable (like all of Ed’s songs). And yes Ed I will be your baby now that you ask so nicely 😉

“Girl, you know I want your love
Your love was handmade for somebody like me”

5. Perfect

Perfect is a classic and slow ballad about love and love and MORE LOVE. This is not my favorite and is a bit to slow for my liking.. It is sweet though ❤

“When I saw you in that dress, looking so beautiful
I don’t deserve this, darling, you look perfect tonight”

6. Galway Girl

This irish style song about a girl Ed found on the road is definitely another on of my favorites! You almost can’t help but dance when the song comes on! There is just something magic about this folk like song ❤

“She played the fiddle in an Irish band
But she fell in love with an English man
Kissed her on the neck and then I took her by the hand
Said, ‘Baby, I just want to dance'”

7. Happier

Happier is a heartbreak song about love and missing the one you love. This song is super sweet and though it is not my favorite right now I feel like it will grow on me and be my jam in like a week 😉

“But I guess you look happier, you do
My friends told me one day I’ll feel it too
I could try to smile to hide the truth
But I know I was happier with you”

8. New Man

This is 100% my favorite song from this album. The lyrics has me cracking up every time I listen to this song and se melody is classic catching Ed Sheeran. I also LOVE how he portraits the people in this song  because we all know these types!

“He’s got his eyebrows plucked and his arsehole bleached
Owns every single Ministry CD
Tribal tattoos and he don’t know what it means
But I heard he makes you happy, so that’s fine by me”

9. Hearts Don’t Break Around Here

Another slow ballad about love and falling in love, being in love, and making love. You know what I am talking about 😉 The kind of song you can listen to if you want to cry over something.. or is deeply in love ❤

“Every night I kiss you, you’ll say in my ear
‘Oh, we’re in love, aren’t we?'”

10. What Do I Know?

A fun and happy dancing / chilling track about Ed’s philosophies and opinions. I really like this song but it will never beat New Man 🙂 It is definitely a song you can sing along to though and I am very keen on it!

“Love can change the world in a moment
But what do I know?”

11. How Would You Feel (Paean)

How Would You Feel (Paean) was the third single we got from Divide. This is another ballad which, you guys by now must have caught up on by now, is not my favorite genre. The song is, anyhow, very sweet and has a nice slow rhythm ❤

“How would you feel
If I told you I loved you?
It’s just something that I want to do”

12. Supermarket Flowers.

This sweet but heartbreaking song to Ed’s grandmother who passed away written from his mothers perspective is both beautiful and makes you smile but also sort of makes you want to cry at the same time… It is lovely and has some of the must fine lyrics in the entire album. This song is very emotional so I will just warn you: tissues may be needed when listening!

“So I’ll sing Hallelujah
You were an angel in the shape of my mum”

13. Barcelona

This very upbeat and happy song makes you want to get up and dance with Ed in Barcelona! Love and wanderlust combined in this adventurous life-enhancing song!

“And you and I, we’re flying on an aeroplane tonight
We’re going, somewhere where the sun is shining bright
Just close your eyes
And let’s pretend we’re dancing in the street
In Barcelona”

14. Bibla Be Ye Ye

A fun song about waking up the day after a party that maybe went a little too crazy 😉 The lyrics in this song is so fun that I at least can’t help but smile at them ❤ The song itself has a very Hawaiian beach vibe going on and will definitely be a big hit in the summer well!

“I lost my shoes last night, I don’t know where I put my keys
I was tired and fell asleep beneath an oak tree”

15. Nancy Mulligan

Another folk style song about love on the run 😉 More specifically – forbidden love! This is a fun sing with a catchy chorus that I do not count will be stuck in my head by tomorrow!

“She was Nancy Mulligan
And I was William Sheeran
She took my name and then we were one
Down by the Wexford border”

16. Save Myself

Save Myself is the last song on the album. It is slow and a bit sad but also hopeful and like “thinking”. It is about always being there for everybody else and not listening to oneself and ones own body. The song is flows – almost like you fly through it. The ever so smart Ed also impresses with more breathtaking lyrics in this song. Fall in love with Ed and Divide and close of with this beautiful ballad.

“And before I blame someone else, I’ve got to save myself
And before I love someone else, I’ve got to love myself”

This album is a journey like few others and I highly recommend you just taking it from one end to another! I undestand music but I am in no way an expert or anything – still I will rate Divide ★★★★☆ because of its wonderful catchy songs, beautiful lyrics and Ed’s phenomenal voice.

You can listen to Divide on spotify right here or buy it here.

I hope you are all having a great weekend!

Love – Anne Sofie

 

5 thoughts on “Let’s talk music – Ed Sheeran – Divide %

Leave a Reply

