Shadowhunter Academy #9 – Born to Endless Night

TSA09_cover

Title: Born to Endless Night

Published: October 20th 2015

Authors: Cassandra Clare & Sarah Rees Brennan

Collection: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

My rating: ★★★★★ (4.5)

Buy it here

 

It is time for the second last shortstory from the Tales from the Academy collection. And MY OH MY how long we have been going with these! Anyway if you are new to this blog then I have been going through all the short stories from TFTSA by Cassandra Clare. If you have not read all of her books yet – don’t read this review! There will be SPOILERS! What you can do, if you have not read these short stories yet, is go read my introduction to this collection here.

2a81f7193eb632e9a968dc0eb5a69929

In this short story we follow the amazing high warlock of Brooklyn Magnus Bane as he visits the shadowhunter Academy. But things get complicated when a warlock baby is left at the steps of the academy with only a note saying who could ever love it. Magnus and Alec takes care of the baby warlock for now but how will all the tough shadowhunters act when a tiny little child is amongst them?

This is a story about family and love. Is there any better combination? I think not!

You can scroll over the spoilers to read the end of the review!

**SPOILERS START HERE!!!** (See you below non-spoilers)

OH MY LORD!!!!!! This STORY!!! WOWOWOWOW!!!! I have NO WORDS!!! OR WAIT.. I do have words!! I HAVE SO MANY WORDS AND FEELS THAT I THINK I MIGHT EXPLOE IF I DON’T SAY THEM ALL NOW AT ONCE!!

First I love that we have Magnus’s POV in this story. He is basically my favorite character in this entire series / the shadowhunter universe.. He is just has such a fantastic personality and a way of life I admire 😉

228702a3ab43dc9109a616d42b69881a

That baby warlock being left like that broke my heart but I found it ridiculously funny how bad the shadowhunter academy students handled it! I mean a baby isn’t a ticking timebomb as they treated it.

I was though impressed with how great Alec were with babies. I mean it is obvious now that he is a perfect dad.. I just hadn’t seen it coming! He and Magnus are going to be AMAZING parents!!

0eb3c893fc43165ae2ce798742d27578

BUT the best part was definitely seeing the whole family gathered in Magnus’s room all falling head over heals in love with the baby! And them naming im Max was just.. PERFECT!

I could go on about all this forever but I want to keep this review a bit short so I will just round off with saying that my love for Sizzy it endless and I loved the dance scene at the end!!

** SPOILERS END HERE!! **

I Absolutely adore this novella! It was funny, it was cute but it was also very emotional and hit you right in them feels!! I think my love for this short story is endless!

I cannot recommend you all enough to read this series because it is FABULOUS LIKE MAGNUS BANE!!

After a long debate with myself I decided to rate this Born to Endless Night ★★★★★ or rather ike 4.5 stars.. the thing is.. this is not a super long and deep novella but it had all the right things and compared to its genre it is the best one I have ever read.. but you  cannot compare it with a huge 800 pages novel.. It deserves five stars in the short story genre because it made me laugh, cry and just FEEL a lot of things.

Have you read this short story? What did you think of it?

Happy Wednesday regards – Anne Sofie

 

Leave a Reply

