Beauty and the Beast movie review

onesheet

Title: Beauty and the Beast

Premiere: 23rd of February 2017 (London)

Directed by: Bill Condon

Written by: Stephen Chbosky & Evan Spiliotopoulos

Stars: Emma Watson, Dan Stevens and Luke Evans.

My rating: ❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ /6

 

Last night i went to see the new Beauty and the Beast movie at its premier in the town I love in. I have always been a HUGE Disney fan! Especially the princess movies were my favorites. So when I heard that they were making a new Beauty and the Beast movie I thought this will be hell or heaven. Luckily it ended up being the last one of the two. Actually I loved the movie so much that I wanted to do a review in it. So here I am to discuss this great movie!

Beauty and the Beast from 2017 directed by Bill Condon is an adaptation of the Disney fairy tale about a monstrous-looking prince and a young woman who fall in love (100% stolen from imdb hah).  Emma Watson plays the role of Belle while Beast is played by Dan Stevens.

I was honestly so afraid that they were going to blew it.. But the movie has the exact same magic as all the Disney classics. The pictures are stunning and it is truly incredible how real everything looks considering nearly every character (all the “furniture”) was animated in.

rs_1024x685-161104092235-1024.Beauty-and-the-Beast.3.ms.110416

Emma Watson has taken the role of Belle and made it her own in the best way possible. She has made Belle an inventor and a charming but practical book nerd. Watson adds humor and most of all raw girl power to Belle’s character! Belle is no longer a silent and pretty girl with a knack for books – she is a strong independent woman with a heart as gold as her signature dress.

This movie is a musical. A beautiful and magical Disney musical but never the less a musical which is a tough genre to pull off. I am not the biggest fan of musical movies but this one was close to perfect! The singing did not seem unnatural. It was actually the exact opposite. Like YES of course they have to sing here 😉 And of course it was also all of the classic good old songs from the original Beauty and the Beast movie. I did not even know Emma Watson could sing and she is rather good even!

Though if I were to critic on something, it would be that some of the scenes might be rather scary from a child’s perspective. Like when there are wolves and such. Also I found the romance between Belle and Beast a bit rushed.. like at one moment they hate one another and the next they are head over heals in love.. I miss some more library scenes or just something where they get to know each other better before throwing themselves at one another..

Still their love story is beautiful and dazzling with the ball scene and the ending. Disney changed Belle’s ball gown quite a bit but it is still stunning and has the perfect yellow color that Watson absolutely ought to wear more often as she looks breath taking in it!

This is also a funny movie. You cannot (or at least I could not) help but smile and laugh uncountable times throughout the movie. Not only are all of the enchanted furniture/court people wonderful and funny (especially Lumière and Cogsworth the litterally golden duo!) but also Gaston and LeFou’s humor is to die for in this movie! I must say that LeFou is one of my favorite characters though he is one of the bad guys. He is just such a sweet fluff ball that I cannot help but love him! I hope he finds someone worthy of him and who are not like Gaston.

beauty-and-the-beast-posters-slice

I always rate movies on a scale from one to six hearts and I have decided to rate Beauty and the Beast (2017 edition) ❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ hearts. 

It made me laugh out laud and cry nearly just as loud and made my heart beat both fast with excitement but also swell with love!

I cannot praise this movie enough because it deserves SO MUCH LOVE. If you get the chance to go see it I highly recommend you doing it simply to relive a beautiful classic childhood adventure and fairy late. It is 100% worth it!

Lost of love – Anne Sofie

Leave a Reply

