Book review – Love & Gelato

lovegelato

Title: Love & Gelato

Published: May 3rd 2016

Author: Jenna Evans Welch

Published by: Simon Pulse

My rating: ★★★☆☆

Buy it here

AGES ago (three months ago) I read Love & Gelato while I was in Rome and now that I am done with my exams I FINALLY have the time to review it.

Love & Gelato is about Lina who is spending the summer in Tuscany. To you that might sound like a dream vacation, but Lina is only there because her mother’s dying wish was for Lina to meet her father. So here she is – living in magical Italy wanting nothing more than to go home to America. Everything becomes more exciting when Lina finds an old diary of her mother’s from when she was in Tuscany herself. With the help of her new friend Ren, Lina walks in her mother’s footsteps through the magical city – but can she walk through unfazed by the romantic city?

IMG_7030

This book is cute. Not much more than that.. It is light and sweet and is the PERFECT book to read when you are in Italy, but it is also a bit strange at times. I guess Lina was just not my favorite kind of character.. Sure she was relatable but not like wow this is an amazing character.

The writing quality is ok but nothing special.. but don’t get me wrong – I really liked this book! It has the magic that is so characteristic for Italy and is super sweet and nice and good and all.. Just not extraordinary or super unique.

Because is really liked Love & Gelato and it was a good book, I give it ★★★☆☆

It was good but not a must read – don’t let that keep you from reading it though!! I loved it and it was magical, but there are definitely other books I would recommend people reading before this one even comes to mind.

Happy summer and lots of love

– Anne Sofie

Leave a Reply

