Book review – The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

41bz6juMwiL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

Title: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Published: May 18th 2004

Author: Mark Haddon

Published by: Vintage Contemporaries

My rating: ★★★★☆

Buy it here

 

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon is a humorous crime novel. I read it for school and loved it so.

The book is about fifteen year old Christopher John Francis Boone who has autism. He likes everything logical, knows all the prime numbers up to 7,057 and hates the color yellow. One night Christopher finds the neighbor’s dog, Wellington, pierced and killed with a gardening fork. Christopher takes it on himself to solve the murder logically like his favorite detective, Sherlock Holmes. As Christopher unwinds secrets, other thing from the past is dug up, and he might end solving something entirely different than what he was expecting.

It is always interesting to follow a character with a mental illness. Either the author gets it just right or they miss entirely. One way Haddon got it just right in this book, as I am sure some people’s autism really is this bad. On the other hand he completely missed if this book should represent people with autism. I know several people who has autism, none of them are like Christopher, but it did not make me like the book any less.

The chapters are short and the book is pretty easily read, still I found it can be a bit much, being in Christopher head all the time.

Over all it is a really fun book with mystery, family and mental illness as central themes. It is unlike any other book I have ever read, but still, it charmed me. Beneath his illness, Christopher is after all just a fifteen year old boy, and I enjoyed reading his point of view. It is also the kind of book you learn something from. I learned both about the illness but I also learned about the English culture and family life (that is indeed different from the danish).

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time is a great book that I think most people will find interesting. It made me laugh but also made me frustrated when Christopher yet again did something ridiculously irrational (that he himself of course thought was rational).

I give The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time ★★★★☆. It is a fun and very interesting book that I definitely recommend!

Have a lovely day!

– Anne Sofie

One thought on “Book review – The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Leave a Reply

