Book review – The Princess Saves Herself in This One

517Bf26IjpL

Title: The Princess Saves Herself in This One

Published: April 23rd 2016

Author: Amanda Lovelace

Published by: CreateSpace

My rating: ★★☆☆☆ (2,5)

Buy it here

 

The Princess Saves Herself in This One is a modern poetry book by Amanda Lovelace. The book is divided into four different parts: The Princess, The Damsel, The Queen and You. In the first three parts, Lovelace expresses her life’s ups and downs. In the last part she writes to the reader and the world in general.

This is by far not the best poetry book I have read. I read it expecting girlpower and feminism but the poems seemed more like tumblr posts than actual poetry.

Don’t get me wrong. I have deep respect for all artists, but these poems just seemed too easy. They didn’t touch me or affect me in any way and I honestly though the whole story was very messy and missing a red thread. Usually modern poetry tells a story, but there was no story here, just a bunch of disconnected poems that seemed very superficial.

The princess didn’t save herself. There was no saving. Just anxiety all the way. The poems were fine, but not beautiful. They were like thoughts, quickly scribbled down and not put much thought or work into.

I decided to give The Princess Saves Herself in This One ★★☆☆☆. Or rather 2,5 stars. The poems were ok by themselves. Short and light, but ok. Lovelace has obviously put her heart and soul into this so even though her poetry didn’t catch or consume me, I have respect for that. I also really liked the title, it is just shame the poetry was not a match for it.

Though I had a negative experience reading this book, I hope it won’t hold you from giving it a shot. Remember this is only my opinion and you can have a totally different experience reading it ❤

Love

– Anne Sofie

Leave a Reply

