Book review – Eleanor & Park

71LkLmxqgjL

Title: Eleanor & Park

Published: April 12th 2012

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Published by: Orion

My rating: ★★★★☆

Buy it here

 

Eleanor & Park is a contemporary young-adult novel by Rainbow Rowell. I did not have too high expectations going into this book as Fangirl was not my favorite book ever.. Let’s just say I was VERY positively surprised!

When they first meet on the bus, they hate each other. Park, an awkward and shy asian guy. Eleanor a red headed chubby girl with a curious taste in clothes. Complete opposites. Still, the bus-ride to and from school may teach them that first impressions are not always the right impressions and that there is so much more to be learned about each other.

Saying I liked Eleanor & Park would be a huge understatement. I LOOOOVED IT! It was perfect and smart and sweet as well as beautiful, wise and brilliant. The characters are great and I love them. The plot is moving. The ending is… !!!!!!! (I think you get the idea)

This is not jest a feel good book. Serious issues, like abuse, are dealt with in the book and it really touches your heart in a way that makes you both want to cry in a pillow and punch a wall. Eleanor’s story is rough and I think it is also what made me like the book so much. Because it is different. It is both innocent and cute while at the same time being about so much more than just exchanging mixtures on the bus ride.

As I totally loved Eleanor & Park I deiced to give it ★★★★☆. It really touched me deep in my heart and I recommend it all the way up to the sky! You are missing out if you haven’t read it!

Lots of love and gelato

– Anne Sofie

One thought on “Book review – Eleanor & Park

  1. Kathy @ Books & Munches says:

    I absolutely loved this book as well! Definitely one I’ll reread again in the future. It was actually the first – and still only – book of Rainbow Rowell I’ve read.
    After hearing a lot of good things [and sometimes bad things] about Fangirl, I’m kind of curious to see how that’s going to be – but I’ll have to tackle some more of my TBR before I’ll find out, haha.
    Nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

