Book review – Our Numbered Days

24471629

Title: Our Numbered Days

Published: May 14th 2015

Author: Neil Hilborn

Published by: Button Poetry

My rating: ★★★☆☆

Buy it here

 

A while ago I found a video of Hilborn on youtube reading a loud his poem “OCD”. It left such an impression I just had to read the rest of this collection of poems. Well now I did and I am not blown away..

The thing is that “OCD” is the best poem in the entire book and really the only one that really touched me. A lot of them I found od or just not good, beautiful or sad.. They were just messy and hard to understand with no deeper meaning.

Two poems I found funny and one I found sad. Those were “Parking Meter Theory”, “Skyline with Cranes and Stormcloud”, and “Our Numbered Days” at page 52. But non of them left me breathless, taken aback or anything other than rather numb.

It is not a bad book, I just don’t think all of the “poems” should classify as poems – Even modern poetry.

BUT after all this criticism, I will say that I do not regret reading it, because I did learn some things from it, and a few of the poems gave me a “aha” feeling or made me wonder. So I am giving Our Numbered Days ★★★☆☆. And what do these stars stand for? Well they stand for ok poetry that is definitely unique and leaves some kind of impression, as I think poetry should. Even if the impression is mixed feelings and confusion.

I will definitely recommend reading it, because everybody experiences poetry differently and even though it was not the best think ever for me, it might be so for you 🙂

Lots of love

– Anne Sofie

P.S. If you want to see the video of Neil Hilborn reading “OCD”, you can click here. I highly recommend just seeing this video no matter if you are a poetry fan or not just because it is so strong and every human deserves to see it.

Leave a Reply

