Book review – A Game of Thrones

919-FLL37TL

Title: A Game of Thrones

Published: August 6th 1996

Author: George R. R. Martin

Published by: Bantam Spectra

My rating: ★★★★☆

Buy it here

 

We all know the TV-series but most people have not read the books behind it. Well Decided to give it a shot not that the GOT trailer finally said that Winter is here.

A Game of Thrones is the first book in the A Song of Ice and Fire series. In the book we follow several different families and their battles in the world of the seven kingdoms. I could go on about the families, who they are and what they all do, but what it really comes down to in the end, is who should be sitting on the iron throne and rule the seven kingdoms.

This is not a easy feel good book. A Game of Thrones is a heavy and complicated book that I personally found really hard to get through. Therefore I did not read it.. I listened to it! I find that great books, that at the same time is quite a mouthful and can bring me into a slump, are wonderful to listen to because you don’t have to do anything. The book is just read to you!

A Game of Thrones has a lot of the elements from the old nordic sagas like vendetta and the meaning of family. Though it is some heavy and violent stuff, this book is brilliantly put together with a interesting character cast and a catching story.

I give A Game of Thrones  ★★★★☆ (3,8). It was sure something special and I definitely don’t regret reading it, before watching the series. I was great. It did not give me a lot of feels, but the book itself is a masterpiece. Its complexity is fascinating and also what gave it the last 0,8 star.

Have a lovely day

– Anne Sofie

2 thoughts on “Book review – A Game of Thrones

Leave a Reply

