Book review – Wonder

Wonder_Cover_Art

Title: Wonder

Published: February 14th 2014

Author: R. J. Palacio

Published by: Knopf

My rating: ★★★★☆

Buy it here

Underrated

It is funny how an impulse purchase that has sit on your shelf for more than a year and was then impulsively picked up to read again can not just change you, but completely melt and reshape you. Wonder did that to me.

Auggie is one in more than a million. But not in the way you imagine. August Pullman was born with facial deformation. He has always been in and out of hospitals but now he is finally well enough to start fifth grade in a real school, but how will the kids respond to Auggie’s deformed face? Will they even like him? And then, how can Auggie make them see that he is just a normal kid on the inside?

I picked this book up unsure of what I was walking into, but after seeing the movie trailer and with the movie looking really good, I obviously needed to read the book first.

The book is written in a way that makes it very easy to read. The chapters are not too long, so you never really get bored while reading. Which are good things in my opinion.

Auggie is a wonderful kid and his story is truly magnificent and inspiring. He is so strong and it is a pleasure to follow him through the book.

What I also thought was great was that the story is not only told from Auggie’s point of view. It is told by his sister and his friends too! It really makes you see things from different perspectives in a lovely way.

The whole thing was generally super different but moving at the same time. Auggie is funny and made me laugh many times, but it is also the kind of book that tears you up. Really, I think I both cried and laughed at the same time while reading it. It just evokes so many feelings in you!

I love this book so much and therefore I give Wonder ★★★★☆ . It had it all: funny things, sad things, good things, stupid things, heartwarming things.. I mean, IT WAS ALL THAT AND MORE!

The funny this is, I don’t think I have seen anybody else talk about this book. So because I think this book is fantastic and needs some love and attention, I a giving it the Underrated distinctionThis is a title I give to fantastic books that I believe are underrated. So if that is not motivation for you to read it, I don’t know what is.

I truly recommend it with all of my heart. It was just stunning and sweet and life-enhancing. Something that leaves you changed on the other side. Not changed in the heavy deep way but changed in the way that only lovely and innocent books like this one can.

What I am saying is, if you have not read Wonder, go read it! You are missing out otherwise!

Sweet peaches and summer beaches

– Anne Sofie

Leave a Reply

